Instrumentation: WWQ plus vibraphone and marimba
Playing time: 8'
Copyright 1993
Download Score (Opens in a new tab)
Download Parts
Concertino is a single movement work composed for and dedicated to the Georgia Woodwind Quintet, an ensemble with a long and important history as a champion of new music for woodwinds.  The initial impetus for this work was to create a balance between the wooden instruments (oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and marimba) and the metal instruments (flute, horn, and vibraphone.)  The contrasting roles, most evident in the middle sections, give way to a unified texture.  Equally important is the homage paid to a favorite melody often set by Renaissance composer, Ludwig Senfle: "Was wird es doch des Wunders noch."  The tune permeates the entire piece, yet is obviously stated only in the final section.
  • /
Update Required
To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.