Five Little Pieces

Instrumentation: solo piano
Playing time: 8'
Copyright 2004
Download Score (Opens in a new tab)

“Five Little Pieces” began with the composition of the Bagatelle as a present for pianist and friend, John Jensen, upon his 60th birthday in 2004.  Subsequently I composed the following 4 short movements to form a small set of little pieces.  Each movement presents a different texture and technique: as such, bagatelle, solfeggio, invention, lyric, and fugue.  I think of them as entertainments for both the performer and the listener.