Grand Water Music

Instrumentation: The Musicians of Grand Marais
Playing time: 25'
Copyright 1998
Download Score (Opens in a new tab)

Grand Water Music was composed for the musicians of Grand Marais, Minnesota, including classical musicians and the members of “Over the Waterfall” and “Pair-O-Docs.”  The piece was commissioned by the Grand Marais Art Colony to celebrate the grand opening of the Arrowhead Performing Arts Center; the commission was supported with funds from the Rural Commissioning Program administered by the American Composers Forum.  The four movements each have different orchestrations: #1, Openings, calls for 3 flutes (picc and alto doublings), oboe, clarinet, french horn, violins, violas, cellos, string bass and piano; #2, Waltzing on the mist, was composed for the “Over-the-Waterfall” ensemble, calling for soprano recorder, 2 flutes, violins, viola, cello, string bass, hammered Dulcimer, guitars, and percussion; #3, On The Rocks, was written for “Pair-O-Docs” with a few additional musicians, calling for violin, clarinet, tenor sax, voice, piano, string bass, and percussion; #4, Finale and Tarantella, calls for the entire ensemble, with piano 4-hands.

Grand Water Music parts 1, 2 & 3

Grand Water Music part 4