The Name of it is Love

Instrumentation: Soprano and piano
Playing time: 13' 30
Copyright 2010
Download Score (Opens in a new tab)

“The Name of it is Love” was composed for soprano Emma Lynn and pianist Johanna Kvam.  It is a cycle of 6 poems by Emily Dickinson.  The poems/songs are: 1. Love, thou art high, I cannot climb thee; 2. Let my first knowing be of thee; 3. If you were coming in the fall; 4. The rose did caper on her cheek; 5. You love me; 6. Behold this little bane.