In A Child’s Garden

Instrumentation: Concert Band
Playing time: 15' 30
Copyright 1983
Download Score (Opens in a new tab)

In A Child’s Garden is a set of four movements based upon four poems from “A Child’s Garden of Verses” by Robert Louis Stevenson.  The movements are: 1. Windy Nights (a spooky ‘gallup’) , 2. The Land of Nod (an extended solo for bari sax or euphonium with more than a nod to Brahms’ classic lullaby), 3. My Shadow (infused with numerous canons), and 4. March (Stevenson’s “Land of Counterpane” in which imaginary countries march against each other; in this case one can hear some British and American tunes in competition.)

A three movement version (9 minutes) without The land of Nod is possible.  Parts are available upon request.