Twigs: a Serenade for Woodwind Quintet

Instrumentation: woodwind quintet
Playing time: 13'
Copyright 1980
Twigs (Opens in a new tab)
Download Parts

Twigs draws inspiration from the character of the instruments and certain performer stereotypes.  Each player is given a cadenza which emphasizes specific instrumental and personality characteristics (no reference to any real performers is intended).  The title is a metaphor for the wooden origins of the four woodwinds in the quintet.  The seven movements are: Rapido, Sticks, Twigs, Branches, Tango, Seeds, and Reprise.